Back


Band at a funeral: revival of cultural traditions

Band at a funeral: revival of cultural traditions

The bands in Russia first appeared at the time of Peter the Great thanks to the Swedish captives. There was a great many musicians among them. Since then a band became the legalized attribute not only for a wedding, but also for a funeral: for politicians first, then for military of a high rank and people possessing considerable merits before the motherland, and some time later and less notable people.

At the time of the Soviet Union wind funeral bands acted as the integral sign of honor and tribute to the memory of the dead. A funeral of military was accompanied by patriotic music of the minor and mourning direction: Mozart, Chopin, Tchaikovsky, Verdi's musical works. There were and there are similar traditions in the European countries. In the USA as mourning music are used jazz compositions.

 The 80th - the 90th years of the last century were marked by hard times for funeral bands. Becoming fashionable, cheap, available and qualitative audio recordings of music works, almost completely forced out clients' desire to order a band because of simultaneous decrease of life standard. Even musicians were invited to celebrations more and more seldom.

When the difficult period ended the longing to live music started reviving. Such requirement could not but also be reflected in the culture of a funeral ceremony: demand for maintenance by a band of a funeral is constantly growing. As a result, many funeral houses offer such an opportunity as to order wind band.

Following your close one to the grave to the sounds of mourning march or the symphony, we do not only pay a tribute to the memory of dead, but we also relieve our own pain of loss, reconciling with the inevitable thing.

Nevertheless, most often the band a la carte is universal, following the example of "Wedding & Funeral Orchestra" of the famous Serbian composer Goran Bregovich. In fact, any occasion can serve for such invitation; everyone will come round to you with pleasure:

musicians for a holiday,

musicians for a banquet,

musicians for a wedding,

musicians for an office party, etc.

However, the band  on a B-day party is quite exotic modern service, though gradually gaining popularity.

It is worth remembering that if you decide to order a band for a wedding, the price of its services can vary over a wide range. Performance at a wedding or at a funeral of that very band of Goran Bregovich can be quite expensive. "Better don't die. To order us for a funeral – it is very expensive", the composer said

V. Khalilov's - adagio

Mourning march of F. Chopin

Write to us
Message sent

Назад


Оркестр на похоронах: возрождение культурных традиций

На Руси первые оркестры появились во времена Петра I благодаря шведским военнопленным, среди которых было множество музыкантов. С тех пор не только музыканты на свадьбу, но и оркестр на похороны стал узаконенным атрибутом траурных процессий: сначала для политиков, военных высокого ранга и лиц, обладающих значительными заслугами перед Отечеством, а позже и для менее знатных особ.

 Во времена Советского Союза духовые похоронные оркестры выступали в качестве неотъемлемого знака почета и уважения к памяти умершего. Похороны военных сопровождала патриотическая музыка минорно-траурного направления: произведения Моцарта, Шопена, Чайковского, Верди. Аналогичные традиции существовали и существуют и в европейских государствах. В Америке же в качестве траурной музыки используются джазовые композиции.

 80-е - 90-е года прошедшего столетия ознаменовались нелегкими временами для похоронных оркестров. Входившие в моду дешевые, доступные и качественные аудиозаписи музыкальных произведений, при одновременном снижении уровня жизни, практически полностью вытеснили у клиентов желание заказать оркестр. Даже музыканты на праздник стали приглашаться все реже.

По мере окончания сложного периода начала возрождаться и тяга к «живой» музыке. Такая потребность не могла не отразиться и на культуре траурной церемонии: спрос на сопровождение оркестром похорон постоянно растет. В результате многие ритуальные агентства включают в перечень оказываемых услуг возможность пригласить духовой оркестр на заказ. 

 Провожая своего близкого в последний путь под звуки траурного марша или симфонии, мы не только отдаем дань памяти усопшему, но и облегчаем собственную боль утраты, примиряясь с неизбежным.

 И все-таки, чаще всего оркестр на заказ является универсальным, следуя примеру "Свадебно-похоронного оркестра" ("Wedding & Funeral Orchestra") известного сербского композитора Горана Бреговича. Практически любой повод может послужить для такого приглашения, к вам с радостью придут:

 

  • музыканты на праздник
  • музыканты на банкет
  • музыканты на свадьбу
  • музыканты на корпоратив и т.д.

 Правда, оркестр на день рождения пока еще является довольно экзотической, но постепенно набирающей популярность услугой.

 Стоит помнить, что если вы решитесь заказать оркестр на свадьбу, цена на его услуги может варьироваться в широких пределах. Выступление на свадьбе или похоронах того же оркестра Горана Бреговича может обойтись весьма недешево, как сказал сам композитор: "Лучше не умирайте. Заказать нас на похороны – очень дорого". 

 

Адажио В. Халилова

Траурный марш Ф. Шопена
 

 

 

 

Напишите нам
Сообщение отправлено, в ближайшее время мы Вам ответим!!!

Похожие статьи